Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody! I just picked up a 2009 trx90 for my son's upgrade. This trx sat for 2 years and I'm preparing a thorough cleaning of the carb and fuel lines. I am considering a new one vs a cleaning, I'm worried, as I'm new to tinkering with carbs, I'm not afraid to mess up or lose pieces, I want a back up plan and have a carb in mind before I jump in. Rockymountainatv has 1 part number that replaces 2 different part numbers. Any thoughts? Any pointers for me before I jump in to a disassembly and cleaning?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
By the way, it really only starts when choke is fully engaged, but only idles when choke is off. Hesitation when I slowly engage the throttle, and dies out when I really hit the throttle.

·
Premium Member
3,629 Posts
Try cleaning the old one it’s about a 2 on a scale of 1-10.
Get some Berrymans Chemtool and a half gallon plastic tub with lid. Nitrile gloves. Pipe cleaners and cotton swabs.
Follow the instructions in the service manual and don’t throw anything away. Use screwdrivers with good bits some of those screws may be tight.

·
Super Moderator
18,227 Posts