Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2003 trex400ex with a 440 big bores kit,,,was hoping someone can tell me what save filler gauges should I use for the intake valve adjustment ,,,and what size filler gauge should I use for the exhaust valve adjustment any advice would help

·
Premium Member
4,389 Posts
Is the cam stock? .004 intake and .005 exhaust is stock setting. I think some aftermarket cams change that. My magnum cam is same as stock though.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Valve adjustment

Im not sur,,,the guy I got it from said it has a big bore kit on it he said a 4 wheeler shop did it but never said anything about stock or not cams,,,,,,,hell to be honest I'm a rookie and new about all this,,,I'm not even sure if it really has a big boar kit,,when I was looking everything up I seen were you should have a bigger cam if you have a 440 kit,like I said I didn't really start doin major research till after I got atv,,,,,it's doesn't back fir or anything revs to full just fine ,,but when I do a cold start I have to hold the throttle a lil till it finally idles,,,,,the choke don't help with warming it up or nothing choke on choke off it,it just don't do anything man,,,,,and while holding the throttle waiting on it to warm up every now and then it does this weird sound like if I ain't holding the throttle enough it will kill out ,but after it warms up that sound goes away,,,and one more thing,,,when it's completely warmed up if I give the throttle in the thickness of 2 nickels of distance I can jam it full in and everything does what it's supposed to do,,,,,but if I'm just sitting with ,,,again,,,full warmed ready to go and I jam the throttle fast it dies out,,,,,,,,can u give me some advice

·
Premium Member
4,389 Posts