Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this, so please bear with me. I just rebuilt the top end in my 88 250x it has 160 lbs. compression and good spark but it still won't even pop even with ether. I was wondering what else it could be. The timing is set right, valves down at tdc with the cam sprocket marks lining up with the head. I looked at the flywheel and everything is in good condition... now i am completely baffled. Thank you in advance for any advice!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Okay, so I got it to pop! But it still won't start, so I pulled the plug and it seems to have a strong spark, but only once. It doesn't keep sparking. Anyone know what might cause this?

·
Registered
1,873 Posts
Try another plug first then look at the points.

·
Registered
3 Posts
250x spark

Okay, so I got it to pop! But it still won't start, so I pulled the plug and it seems to have a strong spark, but only once. It doesn't keep sparking. Anyone know what might cause this?
if it sparks only once and there is no more spark it could be your kill switch or the cdi. i would check the pick up coil and the stator with a peak voltage meter to make sure that there is voltage coming out of the staor and pick up coil, and if there is check the peak voltage from the cdi to your coil if there is no voltage from the cdi to the coil then you have a bad cdi and also do a continuity test on your kill switch

·
Super Moderator
18,227 Posts
I had a simular issue with my 250. if yours ran before you rebuilt the top end chances are you forgot to connect something. try bypassing your reverse switch there are two gray wires on the left side of just under the frame overtop of the front sprocket i think one has a black stripe just put a jumper wire between the two wires and try that. I had simular simptoms with mine when i got it. I had a little spark but not constant.

·
Registered
1 Posts
new at this also 250x problem