Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been putting streetbike engines in buggies and quads for a few years now.Anyone else out there actually doing it and not dreaming about it?The engine of choice for a few reasons is the gsxr.Don't hate,I BLEED HONDA RED!I know this from the stain I leave when I crash these monsters!The honda engine is the next best choice.I got sick of the rediculous price of hot rodding 4 stroke quad engines,and the short,unreliable life they have.The 750 gsxr from 99 to the present makes 130 hp stock!With a few mods it goes to 150hp easily.I buy them with 2-4k on the odometer,complete with harness,radiator,guage cluster,and fuel pump for around 1,200.00.The 750 is the best choice because it's the cheapest.1000's and busas are double and triple that #.The only little thing I learned the hard way is that you need the ignition switch because it sends a radio signal to the ecu.It's part of the theft deterrent system.I had to buy one from suzuki and it came with all the locks(gas tank etc.) and costed over 200.00.My next conversion is a 500gs with turbo.I want this power on a more nimble weight.This is what you'll see on factory quads in the coming years and now on the highlander.:funnycanam::funnykawie:

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I sold the 2 quads that I built but,I am right at the end of a 500 lb. buggy build with a gsxr motor.I will take pics of all my crazy toys this weekend.I just joined and never had anyone worth showing my collection to.I have several I would like to sell including a fl250 oddy with a 540 sled motor.Thanks for asking,I can't wait to post pics.

·
Super Moderator
18,228 Posts
I haven't doen it but I have seen several at Busco, they are sick fast but that's all not very trail friendly IMO the oddesey would be a different story though.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·