Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi , I have a NEW 2008 Rancher 2WD 420 . I bought it new just a month ago . I was told by the dealer/service dept that it was shipped with 5W10 oil in it . I know that is pretty thin and they said it was to let it all break-in and everything seat-in . Is this true? I am a pretty good mechanic and it sounds right , but 10 weight oil is just kinda pretty thin . Although my brothers Honda CRV calls for 5W20 all the time .
Can anyone verify this for sure ? I was told to run about 3-5 tanks of gas through it before I brought it in to get the valves adjusted . Does this sound right also ?
Thanks to all in advance .

·
Premium Member
996 Posts
You don't need to get the valves adjusted that quick....jeeeeez. I have never bought from a dealer but maybe they do need it that quick. But I ain't never heard of that. :eek: That sounds right for the oil. After that I would put 10w-40.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You don't need to get the valves adjusted that quick....jeeeeez. I have never bought from a dealer but maybe they do need it that quick. But I ain't never heard of that. :eek: That sounds right for the oil. After that I would put 10w-40.
Thanks . Now days you cant tell if the dealer is trying to take you on a ride or not . I am a pretty good vehicle mechanic , but I am still new to the ATV world of mechanics .
I just dont understand why you need valves adjusted on a new ATV yet on a car or truck there is no need until about 200,000 or so miles .

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
On my old Yamaha 250 ATV I had it 3 yrs and never had the valves adjusted and I put it through the ringer and still no problems at all .

·
Premium Member
5,847 Posts