Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I found this forum looking for info about my inherited 300. Sat up for many years and apparently had some strange mods done to it. Tank appears to be from a 350 Rancher based on the petcock mounting and a few other oddities. So, I suppose I am here for support from some of the resident experts on getting this baby rolling again. I found this to be a great forum full of knowledgeable folks. Thanks to all that take time to answer questions.

I cut my teeth working on early 80's Red 4Trax with my grandfather. He worked at Ford and ran a personal farm, so I learned from a fella that could do more with duct tape and bailing wire than McGuyver could do with a pineapple and a paperclip. That said, I only have workaround experience because he rigged everything with a moving part, and I have no real knowledge about much more than how it works and holding a flashlight still. I can use the heck out of Google though!:grin

I currently have the carb broken down and sitting in gas until my rebuild kit arrives. I found that the plastic shroud on the petcock has broken down to sludge sitting in the tank, so I am trying to figure out if I have to get the OEM petcock and fuel valve assembly or whether I can get one of the cheap replacements. Any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
5,956 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

It sounds like the tank, petcock and fuel line needs cleaned out. You can replace the petcock assembly if it is bad. You'll probably need to disassemble the carb for a thorough cleaning too. Beware of cheap carb kits though... they are usually useless china garbage. Shindy makes a decent kit for it I think.... but save all of your original parts in case you need them later.