Honda ATV Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys I'm new here and had a couple questions to rack your guys brain.

So I'm new to actually fixing tav's i grew up riding them but i always had my neighbor to fix them for us and never really asked questions. Soooooo needless to say i have no experience taking apart these machines. so i had a friend who wrenched on them before so he said he would help take it all apart.

I just got this 2007 40ex less then a month ago and when i bought it the guy said it needed swing arm bearing and tie rod. so when i got it i ordered up the parts and me n my buddy started taking it apart. i got all my parts from rocky mountain. I got all balls swing arm bearing, rear end bearing, brakes, chain & sprockets, and upgraded tie rods.

Well when we started taking it apart we got the brakes changed no problem but when we were trying to get the axle nut off we had a hell of a time getting the nut backed off like 1/8" under neath looked completely bare metal.... like we were just shearing off the threads. so we stopped with that and started on the chain. and we ran into another problem. the adjuster on the end of the axle barrier housing is cracked across from the middle to the edge. and cracked little in another spot. well we got the chain over the axle and pushed the master link in. well i can't get the chain to fit over the sprocket on the back. Is there a technique to get the chain on??? i got that adjuster pushed all the way forward.

One more question. My buddy has a 2001 400ex. He blew up his motor so the rest of the quad is good. Can i use all the parts off his quad?? Are there parts i shouldn't use?? The reason i ask is because the more he looks at the tie rod, he thinks its the spindle assembly thats bad. We haven't taken it apart yet so I'm not sure but was curious if all his parts will work on mine.