Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what is the diffrence between the honda 200x motor and the 200s motor besides the kick start any help please

·
Premium Member
6,616 Posts
What year?

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
1984 is the year of the bike ,, when i bought the 200x the guy said it has a 185 motor in it but he has the 200x in a box and gave me what he said was to a 200x motor and another motor as far as i can tell bolth motor he gave me are 200s motors but i dont know for sure they are 200s eather im just learning about atvs , is there a number somewhere on the motor to tell for sure ?????????

·
Registered
42 Posts
The 200x motor is a manual clutch 5 speed whereas the 185/200s motors were auto 4 speeds. I think the 200s engine put out 12hp stock and the x engine was around 15-17.

You want to put the 200x engine back in it. Its way better power/gearing.

Go here these guys can help you. They helped me with my 185s and I met up with alot of them at little sahara and rode the dunes with them

http://www.3wheelerworld.com/forum.php

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
after diggin bolth motors out i think bolth motors are the 200s motors not 200x like i was told can you identifi these numbers for me tbo5 2236897 and the other is tbo5 2538924 and which one should i rebuild and what is the hp and should i bore it out as i weigh 300 lbs and want to be able to move lol....

·
Super Moderator
18,227 Posts
As far as the numbers I would call the local Honda dealer or get online and find a number for them. your H.P. may be somewhere around 12-15. Boring it won't give you that much morebut add in a high compression piston, exhaust, cam, carb jetting, and a good air filter and you should get it to move around pretty good.

·
Premium Member
7,533 Posts
TB05 ATC 200 B-D / EC-D / XD-H / SE-G / ME-F / ESE-F