Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have spent countless hours on here in the past couple weeks and finally decided to sign up today. I am looking to get my “new to me” 2001 TRX350FM running smooth. I have it in parts right now. Parts I have off are: gas tank, carb, air box, tires, and most plastics. I want to service it the best I can with my limited budget. I am pretty good at turning wrenches and making things work when I have to. However, I must admit that I am new to the ATV world. When I bought the quad I didn’t know what I was looking at but I thought it was a pretty nice quad for $1900CAD. I need something reliable for hunting without the smell of a leaky carb. I learned the carb was leaking after I bought it and it looks like a cheap aftermarket one because it’s shiny and leaks. So far I bought air filter cleaner/oil, a spark plug, a new gas line, oils for the motor and diffs, and a carb rebuild kit. The guy I bought it from gave me a new starter in the deal because it only started with the pull start. It has a gas line filter already. My goal is to fix the leak and get it idling smooth. Oh, when I press the “float bowl accelerator pump” to prime in the cold weather we have gas was spraying somewhere around the boot of the button. Anyways, that’s pretty much where I am at. Any input and citicism is welcome and appreciated. Any help is welcome. Currently I am looking at buying a good used oem or new. Any tips?

·
Premium Member
4,705 Posts
Welcome!
you can download the service manuals and parts links in my signature block below. I used a pc to download it, but I also bought a hard copy.

the manual will specify the OEM carb and where to find the numbers. check to see what you got

I recommend you always buy OEM

that leaky primer pump caneasily be replaced—two screws and don’t lose that internal spring! Leaky float needles are a problem with these carbs

·
Registered
14 Posts