Honda ATV Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thank you for allowing me to enter this forum.
My name is Bryce and I am a heavy equipment operator in the local 49 in Minneapolis Minnesota area.
I have a 2002 Honda Foreman 450es and am having problems with it shifting.
When I turn the key on the gear shift indicator flashes 3 times which should be the shift angle sensor from what I've read.
But when I try to shift the quad into neutral with the manual lever I get nothing, almost like something is not right in the transmission.
Any ideas on where to go next would be greatly appreciated. I am currently taking the shift motor off and going to check and lube the gears behind it and make sure none are broke. Thank you

·
Premium Member
2,608 Posts
How old is your battery? That is often the cause of electronic shifting trouble.

Rick

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
Welcome to the forum Bryce, from another twin cities resident. When you are trying to shift it with the manual lever, the engine is running, correct?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How old is your battery? That is often the cause of electronic shifting trouble.

Rick
The battery is 2 years old.
But when not in use it is plugged into a battery tender.
I tested the battery with a multimeter and it read between 12.4 and 12.6 volts.
Do you think it could still be the battery Rick?
Because if so I will replace it

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Welcome to the forum Bryce, from another twin cities resident. When you are trying to shift it with the manual lever, the engine is running, correct?
I can't get the engine started unless it is in neutral. As soon as I turn the key it flashes reverse 3 time and won't allow me to shift.
Is the only time the mechanical shift works is when it's running?
Last time I tried to pull start the quad I broke the recoil and it felt like I tore my arm dang near off. Wish it had a decompression switch!

·
Premium Member