Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering if somebody can explain to me in a very detailed manner on how to convert my 2001 Rancher 350FE ES to a foot shift. I understand a little bit as far as removing the shift motor and getting in and removing the reduction gears but I am not the greatest mechanic, just self taught/made at it.
So if somebody's possibly got some pictures or very good at explaining how this all works that would be a great help to me. I already have my bolt on foot shifter also. Just need to disable the ES.

·
Super Moderator
38,142 Posts
welcome to the forums. changing a es model to a manual shift is not as easy as what your thinking !. you will need the front engine case cover, manual shifting shaft ( this means you have to split the motor ! ). wire harness, ecu/c.d.i. and a few other odds and in's . soooooooo, before you start tearing it apart ?, you may want to just buy a manual shift ?..your call.

Reactions: Melatv

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Interesting. I've read a bunch before and this was a common thing people were doing and hey said it works fine.
"take off the shift motor and reduction gear cover, removed reduction gears (two gears and shift gear/arm) put cover and motor back on".
So will that work fine? And then just put on my bolt on foot shift and it's good to go?
Again I don't know a whole lot and appreciate any advice.

·
Super Moderator
38,142 Posts
Interesting. I've read a bunch before and this was a common thing people were doing and hey said it works fine.
"take off the shift motor and reduction gear cover, removed reduction gears (two gears and shift gear/arm) put cover and motor back on".
So will that work fine? And then just put on my bolt on foot shift and it's good to go?
Again I don't know a whole lot and appreciate any advice.