Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 rancher 420. when it get hot after riding for awhile it will bog down like ignition is cutting out. if I let it cool down it will be ok for a little while. replaced coil and plug. thought that fixed it but issue is back, thoughts?

·
Registered
8,220 Posts
carb atv here? if so, possibly vapor lock, maybe fuel cap breather not working right, CDI/ECU going out on you? bad oil temp sensor?

IF
EFI, maybe fuel pump going bad?
or again, bad CDI/ECU, oil temp sensor

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
injected, no warning lights. has a temp light. for coolant I would guess. I work as a tech at a car dealer so comparing to car symptoms. would think if ignition module would shut down and not restart. fuel pump same thing. it stays running but won't get out of it's own way.

·
Registered
8,220 Posts
low compression then?
Also, oil temp sensor will SHUT motor off if it hits a certain temp in oil, or if switch is faulty!
ECU can get crazy with controlling spark and such when they start to go bad!
a failing fuel pump will NOT have enough pressure to push/feed fuel as needed!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
stays running. when it does run it rubs fine no issue. only when run for a while and is at trail temp. ECU would make sense, FRED as we call it. freecken ridicules electrical device. as we call it in the automotive business

·
Premium Member
12,342 Posts
I have never seen a cdi get hot and shut down , cool down and work numerous times like that ---- but I am sure it could happen --------- I would think either a tank vent problem or the cylinder heating up , expanding and loosing compression

I wonder if you were to wrap a freeze pack or a bag of frozen vegetables around the cdi and ride it an see if it still shuts down , LOL

·
Registered
2,924 Posts