Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am a relatively new driver, i work at a car shop and everyone drives manuals, saying how they are more economical, fun, and overall a better experience. I want to learn manual but its hard to when people are reluctant to handing over their car to a beginner. One of my biggest concerns is knowing when to up-shift and down-shift, often times people say "listen to your engine" but i don't know what that means. I am looking into getting a 08' Scion tC as my first manual car, would that be a good car (Even if its front wheel drive) ?

·
Super Moderator
38,138 Posts
when they say '' listen to your engine '' what they mean is, when your giving it gas..the engine is winding out, up so to speak ?, when it gets as far as it can go in say, 1st gear ?, your engine will only rev so far, or..you blow it up from reving to high ?..lol. sooo..when your ears hear the motor get up to this point ?, then you should change gears to 2nd, and the process starts all over, it will go a little longer before the engine winds out compared to 1st gear. the same process goes for when your down shifting, the tranny will not go down a gear until the motor and rear wheels ( your front wheels for a front wheel drive ), catch up to the speed of the tranny gears. hope this makes sense for ya :).

Reactions: jdp

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
You can also use your speed to roughly know which gear you need to be in depending on the car. But I find the sound easiest. If the engine is racing, you are in too low of a gear. If the engine is stumbling and wants to die you are in too high of a gear. Being in too high of a gear is a bigger problem imo because you have the potential to stall the car in traffic.

You can't come to a stop unless you have the clutch pushed in or are in neutral. That messes up beginners sometimes.

Rob

·
Registered
8,309 Posts