Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright so I'm very new to atvs and carbs for the most part.
I rebuilt the carb on my 89 trx350d Foreman and just put it on, hooked it all up, bike is running great but then I noticed it was leaking gas.

There's a few rubber lines that attach to the carb and 2 go away from it. One attaches to a T close to the the top of the carb and goes somewhere towards the front.
There's another one that connects to a T by the bowl, the line went towards the rear of the bike, it appears to have a filter or something in line of it. That line is currently not connected to anything on one end and it is leaking gas at an alarming rate. I don't remember disconnecting it from anything when I took it apart but that doesn't mean I didn't. If anyone knows what this line was connected to and where, or if it isn't supposed to be connected to anything why it would be leaking gas from there. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Good job cleaning the carb sounds like it works good however the rubber line at the bottom of the bowl is over flow which mean your float is stuck.
Tap on the bowl with a screw driver to see if it breaks loose or take it apart again and clean that float valve. Make sure the rubber tip of it is not damaged and plyiable and completely clean. Also blow high pressure air throughtbtgat hole the valve seats in if you can.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I tried tapping on it once I clued in what exactly it was which didn't work u fortunately. Going to take the bowl off and ensure it's moving freely, it's a new float valve so tip should be good. Carb was laying on it's side in my car for a week before putting it back on so wondering if maybe the rod slid out of the float and jammed as everything was well cleaned when it was apart. Guess I'll find out when I pull the bowl off.

·
Super Moderator
5,062 Posts