Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been backing up trailers since 1967 and can snake them around anything with my truck without thinking. I learned by putting my hand on the bottom of the steering wheel and while either looking in the mirror or looking back move my hand in the direction the trailer needs to go. However I was backing a small trailer full of archery targets with the Rancher today at the club and had lots of trouble figuring which way to turn the handle bars without a lot of false starts, jackknifes and pulling forward, etc.

Any trick to it to make it easier? Or do I just have to practice more?

·
Registered
8,309 Posts
go slow and practice, its a super short wheel base on both atv and trailer, making them fight you, longer trailers are a breeze compared to small one'! its just the nature of the beast I think with them!!

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think today I had to think too much to do it and I was in a couple of tight spots on the trail. I'll try to come up with a little mantra like "pull ____ handle bar to make trailer go to the right".

·
Registered
324 Posts
Practice.
With the wide turning radius of an ATV and the difference in input/feel with handlebars, they can be difficult, and different, to use for backing up a trailer. I've found that the length of the trailer tongue plays a big part in the geometry. I built a narrow, heavy duty trailer to use behind my 300, and the length of the tongue (4') is perfect in conjunction with the turning radius of the ATV. I can back that thing anywhere, and the trailer doesn't jackknife quickly- it responds well to steering input.

·
Super Moderator
5,062 Posts
It's definitely a case of practice makes perfect. I tow a 5'x4' trailer daily at work and have no issues reversing. However, when we first got the trailer reversing it seemed to be a spectator sport! Lots of finger pointing and laughs were had!

·
Registered