Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!
i'm new to atvs and want a 4x4 honda. i just started shopping around. i want to do some work around camp in VT and also some trail riding. i'm 50ish and 250 lbs. i hear that hondas are pretty reliable. i have about $3000 to spend.
reading the forums, i see alot of shifting problems with the rancher, is this a real issue with this model? the rancher is on my short list, but i sure am open to suggestions!
Thanks, Gary

·
Registered
90 Posts
man i love my rancher the only thing is dont get the AT (automatic trans) or the ES (electric shift trans) if you get the foot shift you want go wrong!

·
Registered
3,572 Posts
Welcome to the forums!! agreed get the foot shift model if you buy a Honda, i have a 700 Grizzly its full auto put in gear and go and it has the most confortable ride you can get and have not had a problem with it with 1800 miles since i bought it, but don't get me wrong i love my Honda too but its a race quad.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the replies!
all the ranchers i've seen so far have had elect shift...
i saw one foreman that is a 5 speed manual. i'm in no big hurry.
thanks again! gary

·
Registered
90 Posts
I know that the new ranchers have the manual trans but I'm sure that everyone is getting them that why you havent seen them.

·
Premium Member
23,581 Posts
Foreman or Rancher either one would be a good choice. I like the foot shift, also, because they are more reliable. I don't really have anything against the electric shift, except it's eventually going to mess up. You won't have that problem with foot shift.

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
The Ranchers are a little smaller and a little more nimble....they are also a bit more advanced i.e. more complicated, because they are liquid cooled and fuel injected. The Foreman is bigger, more basic, comes with a pull starter standard and carbuerator, and air cooled. A work horse.