Honda ATV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently installed the SuperATV disc brake conversion kit on my 300, which I am very satisfied with. But, the brakes were still spongy, like they were with the drum brakes. I knew that the disc brakes were working well, so the only thing it could be would be old (18 years old) hoses that were swelling under pressure. So, I embarked on finding a set of braided hoses.
I had contacted Galfer, but I had a hard time with the website, and when I did get to the order page, I had to print it, fill it out, and either fax or scan it. I'm sort of impatient, so I kept looking. I found a Galfer set on ebay, for the 450R. No one makes a ready-made set for the 300, but the more I studied the set for the 450, the more I was convinced that it could work. I ordered a set-

Galfer Stainless Steel Hyd Front Brake Line Honda TRX450R TRX450ER FK003D418-3 | eBay

They shipped and arrived fast, and I installed them this morning. one side hose is a couple of inches longer than the other, but other than that, the set worked perfect. I did bend the fittings at the calipers to keep the lines away from the tires, but that was the only alteration. Everything else worked out well, and when braking, the handle is firm, and the discs grabbed better.

One observation. If I had realized that the brake hoses were swelling, I would have most likely replaced them first, to see if the drums would then work like they did when the atv was new. Between buying the disc conversion kit, new rims and tires, and the hose set, I've spent close to $900. I don't regret it, but if money is tight, I would recommend addressing the hoses before the drum brakes.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·