Honda ATV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so I am new to ATV's and this forum but i hav done some resarch on my problem. I have no spark but luckily i have a go kart that shares alot of the same parts. i have ruled out the coil/plug, cdi and regulator rectifier so that only leaves the stator and pulse generator. I have ohmed out the stator and i have resistance on both lugs but on the female plug i do not get resistance from the spade this is facing up and down not side to side (green wire I believe) my question is can I use a staor from a 250r of the same year? they look identical but have the 250r has a triangular backing plate that looks removable any help would be appreciatied.

·
Premium Member
38,518 Posts
welcome to the forums. you can't use any other stator from anything other what your year and make is !. reason: stators on trx250's such as yours ?, the stator is matched to the flywheel !. in other words, if you use another stator from, say the same make ?, you would need to use the flywheel as well !. they are a matched pair. you can't just go tossing parts at this model atv.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That makes. I sense to me. If they are matched then why would they sell stator and fly wheel seperatly? All the posts I've read have said nothing about having to replace both of the stator has gone bad. I know the flywheel is balanced but the stator is stationary

·
Premium Member
38,518 Posts
i'm talking about for trx250 years only, not after market. you can't take one stator from a 1987, and stick it in a 1988, as the 1988 may or may not be a matched pair for the stator and flywheel. of course you can buy stators separate !, but you can't use older parts from one to the other, as they are matched to that year, make model. when they make after market stators ?, they make that stator for that year, it has to be made for that year and model.

·
Premium Member
38,518 Posts