Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys Im a newbie and want to say this site is great so thanks to you folks for contributing. I recently traded my sons little 50cc quad for a fourtrax 250 thats in nearly perfect condition. However it has sit in a barn for the past 5 years or so. still has the original tires on it that are like new but the rear were dry rotted bad so i replaced them. the front are still like new. im guessing the float is probably stuck because of the gas running out of the overflow when the petcock is on. It starts right up first kick (battery dead) and runs fine for a few minutes but then starts to miss a little when idling. it runs fine as long as im gunning the throttle but not so good when i let off. Could all that be related to the float being stuck (if it is)? And how in the heck do ya get this carb removed? it looks like i need to remove the fenders and gas tank to get to it. is it possible to get the float off without removing this carb? it doesnt appear this carb has just 1 single bolt to remove like the older models did to remove the bowl. I am also curious what other maintenance issues I should be concerned with due to this quad setting for so long without being ran. Maybe rear end fluids? seems like it shifts kinda hard and maybe slips some in the higher gears...transmission? Thanks for any help folks!!!

·
Registered
1,873 Posts
I agree with red ^^^ Welcome to the forums!!!

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for the help guys. at a quick glance it looked pretty tough getting those bolts out to remove the float. Im thinking a very short screwdriver might work. Im guessing by the looks of the schematic this float is rubber. I wonder if carb cleaner will damage it?

·
Super Moderator
18,227 Posts