Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a 04 450R Jet kit and a White Brothers E pipe, all else is stock. And if u blip the throttle at mid Rpm it will kinda hickup back thru the carb sometimes and stall, Not always but sometimes. And does anyone have trouble with the stock gearing, any ideas on what tooth front sprocket i should use for trailrideing and hill climbing?

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Anyone got any ideas?

·
Registered
195 Posts
I'm kind of new to the sport quads but is there any wayt that you can adjust the timing? Maybe advance it a touch? That may help with the "hickup".

As for the gearing, I would think that you would want a lower tooth count so that the motor has an easier time turning the wheels. you will lose some top end speed tho.

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sounds like a plan, does anyone know if the timeing plate is under the stator on the 450R?

·
Registered
195 Posts
If nobody here knows, I'd call up a dealer or performance shop and see what they say. Maybe even ano auto/4x4 performance shop might know.

·
Super Moderator
18,227 Posts