Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all, new the quad world but I have cut my teeth on Honda 3 wheelers since I was 10 but I'm new to the 4 wheeled game. In the next week I'm going to be pulling the trigger on a new quad and I'm currently looking at two, rubicon eps delux and Yamaha grizzly/kodiak. I'm going to be doing 70-80% work with the quad and the rest trail riding. So here's my question, I have two acres I'm going to be hauling wood out of my back yard and it has a 30-35 degree grade for about 100 yards with a half switchback in the middle. Just purchased a half ton DR Versa trailer with 22" tires (very nice!) and I'm wondering aside from traction will the rubicon have enough power to pull the trailer up my hill with a load of wood in it. My other option is a grizzly with a few more ponies but there's a few really good deals in my area on the rubicon eps delux. Sorry for the long winded post, any input/experience is appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,608 Posts
I'm not sure I would pull perhaps a thousand pounds of anything with an ATV of any size made by any manufacturer on a hill that steep.

You might find that your ATV can do it on flat ground, no problem. Your ENORMOUS safety issue will be stopping the load with that much weight on a hill that steep. Tire size won't matter. The load will be heavier than the bike and the trailer will give orders to the ATV and the rider will be powerless to stop it.

I would not touch this situation on a 35 degree grade . . . . ever.

Rick

Reactions: hodge5

·
Registered
324 Posts
I agree with b52. You need to either reduce the size of the load, getting the weight down to a safe level, or get you a compact tractor, use a truck, etc. Don't hurt yourself and/or damage your ATV.

·
Registered
711 Posts