Honda ATV Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the ATV world, and I bought a 2016 Honda and everything is relatively great. One thing that I've been noticing though is that when I go to reverse, the shift doesn't always go into gear the first time I press the downshift button. You actually hear the shift motor actuate, but it just doesn't go into reverse. Normally, it would go into reverse as soon as I hit the button again, but sometimes it takes a few hits of the downshift button. The dealer and Honda America are saying that it's normal because of the "constant mesh transmission", but it just doesn't seem right to me... any ideas? The dealer replaced the shift motor just in case, and they properly greased the gears that the shift motor activates. They checked every single thing over, and everything else looks normal. Please help, as I've been driving myself crazy trying to figure out what the hell's going on.

I can tell that this behavior definitely isn't right. I went on a 9 mile trail-ride with some of my buddies yesterday and the reverse was really acting up to the point where it really put a damper on the ride.

·
Registered
271 Posts
X2 with above I also had to adjust mine make sure you are at a dead stop too.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You guys really think it's just a cable adjustment? My main concern with that is if it was just the cable adjustment, then I shouldn't hear the shift motor actuate, right? I actually perform the typical reverse procedure (pull reverse lever, then brake) and then hit the downshift button from neutral. I hear the shift motor turn, but it won't always go into reverse on the first try... I'll have to hit the downshift button twice or even sometimes three times. I feel like if it was the cable adjustment, I wouldn't hear the shift motor at all.

·
Registered
271 Posts