Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I just bought my new 2010 4x4 420 Rancher with power steering, ES, and soild rear axel I love the ATV and hate the ugly/cheap factory rims. I need some help on buying new wheels I find custom 12x7 front and rear wheels listed for my model but my factory wheels are 12"on the front and 11" on the rear? Does this matter is it Ok to go 12"s all the way around? Any extra tips you guys can give me would be great on wheels and tire buying for this ATV I am new to this whole game. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
23,581 Posts
Yeah, it is OK to go with the 12 inch rims all the way around. The important thing is that the front tire height and the rear tire height stays the same. I'm not saying you can't go with taller tires, I'm saying whatever size you use, they need to be the same height from front to back. A lot of people change to the 12 inch rims. I would check out ITP wheels, they make some nice wheels.

·
Premium Member
6,616 Posts
What Helmut was trying to say is if your stock tires are 23" up front and 24" in back, when you increase tire size you must keep the difference the same. So you could go up to 24" in front and 25" in rear. Or 25" in front and 26" in rear... Make sense?

·
Premium Member
23,581 Posts
What Helmut was trying to say is if your stock tires are 23" up front and 24" in back, when you increase tire size you must keep the difference the same. So you could go up to 24" in front and 25" in rear. Or 25" in front and 26" in rear... Make sense?
Yeah, that's what I was trying to say, but on the Rancher, the tire height will be the same on the front and back. The rims are the only thing that are a different size. I don't know why they made them like that. Stock tire size for the 2010 420 Rancher 4X4 is:

Front -- 24X8-12

Rear --- 24X10-11