Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, this is my first time posting a thread so try to bear with me. I recently went through the motor on my honda recon and it fired up and ran perfect but when I used the kill switch with my thumb on the end of the handlebar and now I can not get anything out of the atv. If you slide the kill switch back and fourth quickly it will try to fire and act like its trying to crank but will not even if its set to the run position. I disassembled the kill switch to just the two wires and i can touch them together or have them not touching and I cant get anything, but if i touch the wires together for not even a second then move them back and fourth quickly the atv will try to crank but wont run and carry an idle. Any ideas?

Thanks for your time and like I said this is my first thread so bear with me lol.

·
Premium Member
38,518 Posts
welcome to the forums. the kill switch should not have any wires tied together. when you move the switch to either side ?, your grounding the spark plug coil. the prob may be your starter solenoid ( which could mean no power to the start button ? ), or no power through the ignition switch ?.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
welcome to the forums. the kill switch should not have any wires tied together. when you move the switch to either side ?, your grounding the spark plug coil. the prob may be your starter solenoid ( which could mean no power to the start button ? ), or no power through the ignition switch ?.
The wires that were connected to that kill switch was a solid green wire and a solid black with white stripe. The switch was removed. I was also using the a battery and jumping the solenoid to turn the fourwheeler over so i think the solenoid is good.

·
Premium Member
38,518 Posts