Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all,I am a Noob to the site and to quads.I was hoping to find a pdf manual for my Rig due Its entirely new to me.I have searched the forums before I am going to ask this,Does an 87 250X have an oil filter ? I just Traded my RM 125 for my first quad,I am diggin my 250X But Now Its time for some servicing.Any Suggestions on the best type of oil to run and if and where the oil filter is would be greatly appreciated.The engine is bone stock with only an FMF Powercore Exhaust.....

·
Super Moderator
18,228 Posts
Welcome to the forums!! on the right side of the engine just above the brake pedal you will see a louvered cover held on by 3 or is it 4 10mm bolts the filter is in there, make sure you look at the new filter it is written on it "THIS SIDE OUT" I use Honda Oil only...GN4 10w40

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank You Very Much,Someone told me it was a screen and not a filter,and without a manual Its kinda tough to determine.I will locate somewhere I can get Honda Oil I figured That was the safest Bet But You never Know until you ask.Thank you for the welcome and the help

·
Premium Member
23,581 Posts
Yeah, make sure you use Honda oil or oil designed for wet clutch systems or your clutch will start slipping.

·
Super Moderator
18,228 Posts
there is a screen but you have to split the case to get to it the likely hood of it being dirty is slim or they would have made it accessible.

·
Premium Member
23,581 Posts
Yeah, it would be a pain to get to that screen. I've never seen one of those screens real dirty, anyway.

·
Super Moderator
18,228 Posts
I think the purpose of them is to keep the heavy debris from entering the moving parts anyway.

·
Premium Member
23,581 Posts
I think the purpose of them is to keep the heavy debris from entering the moving parts anyway.