Honda ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have a 1986 Honda trx350 that is running rich (oem carb). It pumps out black smoke till warmed up then if reved when warmed up it pumps black smoke out. It idles normally for a bit then shuts off after a bit and noticed that it pops when reving down. I’ve messed with the screw hanging below the carb but it hasn’t made a bit difference.

I have no experience rebuilding or tuning carbs only cleaning them. The previous owner told me that he had drilled out the carb at one time and I think put a bigger jet in but not really sure.

Is there are any good aftermarket carbs that I could buy? Or should I find a way to fix it?

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
36,509 Posts
do not use or even think about after market carbs for that atv !. if your old oem carb has been drilled out ?, your best bet is look for a oem used carb, and rebuild it with a shindy carb kit. AGAIN...DO NOT USE ANY AFTER MARKET CARBS ON THAT ATV !!!.

·
Premium Member
3,452 Posts
Maybe he didn’t do anything to it but drill the replaceable jet.

You definitely want a Keihin QA03A that’s the oem for it. They are available on fleabay just not cheap–i bought one for $80 and after putting a $40 starter valve, $25 baffle and $25 rebuild kit in it i installed on my project 86.

The main jet is a 142, but i put 138.5 in mine and the high altitude jet is a 132? I run borderline high altitude so i think it helps.
so you should take your carb apart and see whazzup. Get a rebuild kit and a starter valve we’ll help you thru it—the Shindy kit comes with all new jets.

If the PO drilled anything on the carb itself , you can still keep it for parts.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #4