Honda ATV Forum
Go Back   Honda ATV Forum > Honda ATV Technical Discussions > Repair & Maintenance

Repair & Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member #8773
View dovako's Photo Gallery(0)
1986 trx 350

Hi, I have a 86 trx 350 (since new) It has been great. Last summer it just stopped running. Replaced the plug, fuel filter, and fuel pump. Seems to have decent spark, although I am no mechanic. It does seem to want to pop (fire) a little bit while cranking but it is not a typical pop (very weak). If it is the cdi or pulse generator that is bad, would there be any spark at all? The carb was rebuilt a couple of years ago so it could be this, but that is not my first guess. How about a timing issue. Any suggestions please. With my work situation,I would love to try to fix it myself as opposed to bringing it in.
THANK YOU!!
dovako is offline   Reply With Quote
HondaATVForums.net is the premier Honda ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, so Register - It's Free!
Old 02-26-2011, 09:31 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member #2063
View Fourtrax's Photo Gallery(0)
Welcome to the forums! I would say maybe carb needs cleaned, but Shadetree is the resident 350 guru, he'll be around shortly to help you out.
Old 02-26-2011, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Supporting Member

Member #948
View Helmut's Photo Gallery(0)
Liked: 11 times
Welcome to the forums. If it has a good strong, bright blue spark at the sparkplug, I would look for a fuel/carb problem. Check your fuel pump fuse and if it's good, pull the fuel line off the carb and see if the fuel pump is pumping.

You only need two tools in life -- WD-40 and duct tape. If it doesn't move and should, use the WD-40. If it shouldn't move and does, use the duct tape.
Helmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)

Member #7607