Honda ATV Forum banner

Honda 400ex Timing

3K views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  SlammedRanger 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, Sorry If I put this somewhere wrong, IDK what im doing lol, I just need help. I'm new to this forum and I just have a quick question. I'm having a hard time trying to make sure my timing isn't off before I try and start this fourwheeler, I'm new to doing the timing on four wheelers, but I have done it on cars, if anyone can give me some tips that would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

#4 ·
Here are the key points to timing the engine.
1. Remove the covers on the flywheel side of the engine.
2. Turn the 17mm bolt counterclock wise till you line up the |T in the small hole
3. Make sure your piston is at TDC through the spark plug hole
4. Put cam in with lobes facing downward and the cam gear has indexing marks to line up with the head surface if it has 3 indexing markes one should be pointed straight up
5. Adjust the timing chain one tooth at a time and leave all the slack at the back side so the tensioner can take it up
6. With the tensioner in place the lines should be exactly flush with the head on both sides.
7. Install valve cover with new metal gasket and adjust valves (always adjust valve anytime you remove the valve cover.
8. Turn it over by hand counterclock wise again a few full revolutions to be sure everything is clear and you have no binding anywhere.
9. Install the side covers and start her up.
Good luck! Very easy quad to time.

#6 ·
if all else fails ?, there is a sticky in the repair section by me, that goes into great detail on how to set, and adjust valves on all 4-stroke motors. I know not all motors are made the same as far as lay-out ?, but they ALL work the same way !..lol. have a look at the sticky, it may help you :).

Reactions: XplicitRacing6
#9 · (Edited)
Also to set the valves after assembly and timing check: