Honda ATV Forum
Go Back   Honda ATV Forum > Honda ATV Technical Discussions > Repair & Maintenance

Repair & Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member #23325
View Onedollartrike's Photo Gallery(0)
My new 3wheeler won't shift

I recently purchased a 1984 Honda 125 for $1! Only problem is that it won't shift into gear. I got it from a family member that took good care of it but he said one day it just wouldnt shift into gear. He then put it in his shed and that's where it has sat for about 7 years until yesterday. It hasnt been cranked since he put it up either. Where should I start in this rebuild?I'm no mechanic but I am ok at fixing things if I know what the problem is. Any ideas or past experiences with this? Any advice will help.
Onedollartrike is offline   Reply With Quote
HondaATVForums.net is the premier Honda ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, so Register - It's Free!
Old 09-17-2012, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member #14099
View slincolnn's Photo Gallery(0)
Liked: 1 times
Welcome to the forum.I would start by cleaning the carb,change the oil, remove the plug and see what it looks like then add a little oil to the cylinder and crank it over by hand with the plug out.You will also need to clean the fuel tank and petcock add an inline fuel filter then fire it up and see if it shifts.
03 recon
slincolnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Supporting Member

Member #8365
View Deeperinthabush's Photo Gallery(0)
Liked: 11 times