Honda ATV Forum
Go Back   Honda ATV Forum > Honda ATV Technical Discussions > Repair & Maintenance

Repair & Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2011, 08:24 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member #13518
View gamit's Photo Gallery(0)
2002 TRX350FM - Idle high - idle speed screw and choke not responsive

I am new to ATV repair and this used 2002 TRX350FM is new to me.

Initial problem: Hard to shift into reverse and then shifting out of reverse.

searching honda forum and looking the service manual and Clymer manual for this machine. suggested checking idle speed and rule that out. I checked the idle speed - I warmed up the machine (10min) and confirmed it is high - 2050 -2100 rpm. I believe it should be 1400 -1450rpm on this machine.

I attempted to lower the idle speed via the idle speed screw adjustment. - it did not seem to do affect the idling at all. I decided to turn the screw the other way and was able to increase the idle speed, but only after quite a few turns.

One other observation, when I pull the choke, it has zero effect on the engine while idling or in motion. The choke cable appears to be functionally normally from a displacement perspective on the handlebar side. From a performance perspective, the machines seems to run well, at least from my untrained/limited perspective. It does not bog down at high speed, there isn't a hesitation when hitting the throttle quickly.

I am thinking now that i need to go through an entire carb. clean out process which has lead me to some questions. I did read shadetree's very informative post on "carb clean out".

1. Is there any other diagnostics to look at before doing a carb. clean out.

2. how long do you think it might take for someone fairly new to doing this? is this something better left for the service pro ?