Honda ATV Forum
Go Back   Honda ATV Forum > Honda ATV Technical Discussions > Repair & Maintenance

Repair & Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member #10127
View ksmrider's Photo Gallery(0)
Diagnosing clutching problems?

Hey all, newbie here. I've got a '98 TRX300FW and am trying to diagnose my clutch problem, by the way great site.

Couple years ago my bike started to loose power and eventually wouldn't move at all, so I figured it's probably time to get a clutch kit. I bought a centrifugal and mechanical clutch off ebay (probably not the best idea I've had but they were cheap and sold together). BTW - the used clutches sat in the box for about a year before being installed, and I didn't soak the used disks in oil, only coated everything before installation. After everything put back together my bike ran good for about 100 yards then lost power again. It's been sitting for the past year now and I want to get it up and running.

Here's what's happening: starts up fine (battery was new couple years ago and still has lotsa juice left), shifts into gear fine, idles in N and other gears fine, after shifting into R or 1st and just giving it a little throttle it acts like it wants to move (kinda like a sputtering, jerking movement) but then gives up and no amount of throttle will make it move under power.

Anyway, I'm thinking the used disks weren't oiled up enough and this is the result, or would the jerking,sputtering be a sign that maybe it could be because the weights or one-way clutch (sprang ?) in the centrifugal are the problems?? Any help in understanding how to diagnose this problem is appreciated.

Incidentally, I learned on this site that soaking fiber discs in oil designed for fiber discs is best, and to soak them until the bubbling stops. This stuff isn't covered in my repair manual - good info to know.