Honda ATV Forum
Go Back   Honda ATV Forum > Honda Model Specific Discussions > Honda Rancher

Honda Rancher Discuss all models of the Honda Rancher 350/400/420

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2010, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member #5487
View yotaco22's Photo Gallery(0)
Honda Rancher "ESP" Problem!! need help

Hey everybody im new to this forum. I have a 2001 Rancher 350 2x4 ESP. When I am cruising down the road and leave my fourwheeler in gear for to long it will not shift up or down. Unless I come to a stop and shut the four wheeler off and turn it back on. But if I shift up and back down fast it seems to work fine. Has anyone had this problem or know what it can be. Ive had a couple of four wheelers in the past but never one with ESP so im kinda new to this electric shift stuff.
My fourwheeler has about 600 hrs on it and it has been sunk in water before. The guy that sold it to me has had everything professionally fixed and its been sitin in a garage for about 2 years.
yotaco22 is online now Report Post Reply With Quote
yotaco22 is offline   Reply With Quote
HondaATVForums.net is the premier Honda ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, so Register - It's Free!
Old 09-27-2010, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Supporting Member

Member #948
View Helmut's Photo Gallery(0)
Liked: 10 times
This is a guess, but it might be the angle sensor or the speed sensor. Since the 2001 model doesn't store trouble codes, the only sure way to find the problem is to check each component in the electric shift system. A service manual will show you how to check each component. Here is a link to a 2000-2003 Rancher 350 service manual.

http://www3.telus.net/leneng/pdf/Hon...air_Manual.pdf

You only need two tools in life -- WD-40 and duct tape. If it doesn't move and should, use the WD-40. If it shouldn't move and does, use the duct tape.
Helmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member #5689